Book ‘And Then I Woke Up’ by Malcolm Devlin

PDF Excerpt 'And Then I Woke Up' by Malcolm Devlin
"Intelligent, compassionate and unsettling." — The New York Times In the tradition of Mira Grant and Stephen Graham Jones, Malcolm Devlin’s And Then I Woke Up is a creepy, layered, literary story about false narratives and their ability to divide us. In a world reeling from an unusual plague, monsters lurk in the streets while terrified survivors arm themselves and roam the countryside in packs. Or perhaps something very different is happening. When a disease affects how reality is perceived, it’s hard to be certain of anything... Spence is one of the “cured” living at the Ironside rehabilitation facility. Haunted by guilt, he refuses to face the changed world until a new inmate challenges him to help her find her old crew...
Publisher: Tor.com (April 12, 2022)  Pages: 166 pages  ISBN-10: 1250798078  ISBN-13: 978-1250798077  ASIN:‎ B0927B1P8K

Click on the image to read the book

About the author: Malcolm Devlin’s stories have appeared in Black Static, Interzone, The Shadow Booth and Shadows and Tall Trees. His first collection, You Will Grow Into Them, was published by Unsung Stories in 2017 and shortlisted for the British Fantasy and Saboteur Awards. He currently lives in Brisbane.