Book ‘Burning Girls and Other Stories’ by Veronica Schanoes

PDF Excerpt 'Burning Girls and Other Stories' by Veronica Schanoes
When we came to America, we brought anger and socialism and hunger. We also brought our demons. “One of the most powerful voices in speculative fiction.” ― Catherynne M. Valente. In Burning Girls and Other Stories, Veronica Schanoes crosses borders and genres with stories of fierce women at the margins of society burning their way toward the center. This debut collection introduces readers to a fantasist in the vein of Karen Russell and Kelly Link, with a voice all her own. Emma Goldman--yes, that Emma Goldman--takes tea with Baba Yaga and truths unfold inside of exquisitely crafted lies. In "Among the Thorns," a young woman in seventeenth century Germany is intent on avenging the brutal murder of her peddler father...
Publisher: Tor.com (June 14, 2022)  Pages:‎ 336 pages  ISBN-10: 1250847281  ISBN-13: 978-1250847287  ASIN:‎ B088TRNCWZ

Click on the image to read the book

About the author: Veronica Schanoes is assistant professor in the department of English at Queens College, CUNY. Her fiction has appeared in Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells, Lady Churchill’s Rosebud Wristlet, and Strange Horizons. Her story “Burning Girls” is a finalist for the Nebula award. She lives in New York City.