Book ‘Butts: A Backstory’ by Heather Radke

PDF Excerpt 'Butts: A Backstory' by Heather Radke
A fascinating journey into the scientific and cultural history of the female butt, for fans of Mary Roach and Leslie Jamison. Whether we love them or hate them, think they’re sexy, think they’re strange, consider them too big, too small, or anywhere in between, humans have a complicated relationship with butts. It is a body part unique to humans, critical to our evolution and survival, and yet it has come to signify so much more: sex, desire, comedy, shame. A woman’s butt, in particular, is forever being assessed, criticized, and objectified, from anxious self-examinations trying on jeans in department store dressing rooms to enduring crass remarks while walking down a street or high school hallways. But why?...
Publisher: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster (November 22, 2022)  Pages: 320 pages  ISBN-10: 1982135484 ISBN-13: 978-1982135485  ASIN:‎ B09JPH9LCQ

Click on the image to read the book

About the author: Heather Radke is an essayist, journalist, and contributing editor and reporter at Radiolab, the Peabody Award­–winning program from WNYC. She has written for publications including The Believer, Longreads, and The Paris Review, and she teaches at Columbia University’s creative writing MFA Program. Before becoming a writer, Heather worked as a curator at the Jane Addams Hull-House Museum in Chicago.