Book ‘In On the Joke’ by Shawn Levy

PDF Excerpt 'In On the Joke' by Shawn Levy
The Original Queens of Standup Comedy
A hilarious and moving account of the trailblazing women of stand-up comedy who broke down walls so they could stand before the mic — perfect for fans of The Marvelous Mrs. Maiseland Hacks. Today, women are ascendant in stand-up comedy, even preeminent. They make headlines, fill arenas, spawn blockbuster movies. But before Amy Schumer slayed, Tiffany Haddish killed, and Ali Wong drew roars, the very idea of a female comedian seemed, to most of America, like a punch line. And it took a special sort of woman — indeed, a parade of them — to break and remake the mold. In on the Joke is the story of a group of unforgettable women who knocked down the doors of stand-up comedy so other women could get a shot...
Publisher: Doubleday (April 5, 2022)  Pages: 400 pages  ISBN-10: 0385545789  ISBN-13: 978-0385545785  ASIN:‎ B098PXY7B1

Click on the image to read the book

Shawn Levy is the author of eleven books, including the bestsellers “Rat Pack Confidential,” “Paul Newman: A Life,” and “The Castle on Sunset.” He served as film critic of The Oregonian from 1997 to 2012 and KGW-TV from 2009 to 2016. A former senior editor of American Film and a former associate editor of Box Office, he has published stories in the New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, the San Francisco Chronicle, The Guardian, The Black Rock Beacon, The Independent, Interview, Film Comment, Movieline, and Sight and Sound, among many other publications. He lives in Portland, Oregon, where he serves on the board of directors of Operation Pitch Invasion (www.pitch-invasion.org). To get a peak into his head, visit www.shawnlevy.com.