Book ‘The Lost Dreamer’ by Lizz Huerta

PDF Excerpt 'The Lost Dreamer' by Lizz Huerta
A stunning YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica, this gripping debut introduces us to a lineage of seers defiantly resisting the shifting patriarchal state that would see them destroyed―perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir. Indir is a Dreamer, descended from a long line of seers; able to see beyond reality, she carries the rare gift of Dreaming truth. But when the beloved king dies, his son has no respect for this time-honored tradition. King Alcan wants an opportunity to bring the Dreamers to a permanent end―an opportunity Indir will give him if he discovers the two secrets she is struggling to keep. As violent change shakes Indir’s world to its core, she is forced...
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) (March 1, 2022)  Pages:‎ 384 pages  ISBN-10: 1250754852  ISBN-13: 978-1250754851  ASIN:‎ B08MD1J4LV

Click on the image to read the book

Lizz Huerta is a widely-admired Mexi-Rican short story writer and essayist, published in LightspeedThe CutThe Portland ReviewThe RumpusMiami Rail, and more. Her short story “The Wall” is included in the anthology A People’s Future of the United States. Huerta has also been a 2018 Bread Loaf Fellow, a five-time VONA Fellow, and the winner of the LUMINA fiction contest, selected by Roxane Gay, who called her writing “a menacing inescapable seduction.” She has appeared on CSPAN’s BookTV to discuss the erasure of Mexican American Studies in Arizona, and has taught creative writing to homeless youth through San Diego nonprofit So Say We All.