Book ‘The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy’ by Megan Bannen

PDF Excerpt 'The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy' by Megan Bannen

‘Romantic, wildly creative, and utterly charming, The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy is a fantasy unlike any I’ve read before’ Lana Harper, author of Payback’s a Witch. The Princess Bride meets You’ve Got Mail in this enchantingly quirky, completely refreshing fantasy with a rom-com-worthy premise, perfect for readers of The House in the Cerulean Sea. Hart is a marshal, tasked with patrolling the magical wilds of Tanria. It’s an unforgiving job, and he’s got nothing but time to ponder his loneliness. Mercy never has a moment to herself. She’s been single-handedly keeping Birdsall & Son Undertakers afloat in defiance of sullen jerks like Hart-ache Hart, the man with a knack for showing up right when her patience is thinnest. After yet another run-in with Merciless Mercy, Hart finds himself penning a letter addressed simply to “A Friend”…

Publisher: Orbit (August 25, 2022); Pages: 449 pages; ISBN-10: 0316394211; ISBN-13: 978-0316394215; ASIN:‎ B09N77ZQ7N

Click on the image to read the book

Author’s biography: Megan Bannen is a former public librarian whose YA debut The Bird and the Blade was an Indies Introduce pick for 2018, a Kids Indie Next Fall 2018 List pick, a Kirkus Best YA of 2018, and recently was named by Stephenie Meyer as the most recent book that made her cry. In her spare time, she collects graduate degrees from Kansas colleges and universities. While most of her professional career has been spent in public libraries, she has also sold luggage, written grants, and taught English at home and abroad. She lives in the Kansas City area with her husband and their two sons. 

By: ,