Book ‘Wrath Goddess Sing’ by Maya Deane

PDF Excerpt 'Wrath Goddess Sing' by Maya Deane
Drawing on ancient texts and modern archeology to reveal the trans woman’s story hidden underneath the well-known myths of The Iliad, Maya Deane’s Wrath Goddess Sing weaves a compelling, pitilessly beautiful vision of Achilles’ vanished world, perfect for fans of Song of Achilles and the Inheritance trilogy. The gods wanted blood. She fought for love. Achilles has fled her home and her vicious Myrmidon clan to live as a woman with the kallai, the transgender priestesses of Great Mother Aphrodite. When Odysseus comes to recruit the “prince” Achilles for a war against the Hittites, she prepares to die rather than fight as a man. However, her divine mother, Athena, intervenes, transforming her body into the woman’s body she...
Publisher: William Morrow (June 7, 2022)  Pages: 464 pages  ISBN-10: 0063161184  ISBN-13: 978-0063161184  ASIN:‎ B09FLQRQHW

Click on the image to read the book

About the author: Maya Deane is writing for eternity. We imagine she would enjoy a nice reception in the present, but when we are all dust, her sinister spells will continue to unfold, guiding the motion of the stars inexorably down into the gravity wells of the supermassive black holes. Since we are all currently alive, she would love to discuss the many things people should know about: the history of forks, cannabis-hotboxing Amazons in the archeological record, the top three most famous 18th century French trans women, experimental culinary archaeology (buy her a bunch of ancient bread loaf molds so she can make conical loafs, please), and the importance of good diplomatic relationships with cats. When mortals come to naught and their name is naught, she will flap her wings like a zeret bird. She will go to the sky. On the wind. On the wind!